The much anticipated sequel to the award winning “The Stereotypical Freaks” taking place two years after “Freaks” ends. Twenty-one year old Jeremiah Jacobson is the world’s best hockey player, but he wasn’t prepared for the frenzy and scrutiny that came with that title. Tom Leonard is an average college sophomore… just a guy trying to find his place in the world as he sorts through issues that are both very real and seemingly insurmountable. Through a chance meeting, these two strike up an unlikely friendship. Their bond is tested when Tom discovers that his idol isn’t as perfect up close as he seems from afar. With Jeremiah living a little too much in the moment and with his past catching up to him, will Tom be able to help him before it’s too late? “The Hockey Saint” is Volume 2 in the “Forever Friends” Trilogy

Buy Now:
Amazon

Iris’ Review:
First let me say that I do not normally read graphic novels. I am, however, an avid hockey fan. I watch the games, cheer them on as they are winning, groan and commiserate with fellow fans when my team is losing. On a deeper level, I know that professional athletes are people as well, they have a life off the ice, area, stadium, etc. And that life includes issues that all the money in the world cannot prevent. If anything, the money and the fame make cause all new problems people like myself may never face.

The Hockey Saint pits a young college hockey player against his misconceptons about professional atheletes. When he accidentally meets his hero, he expects fame and all the glamour that comes from being a highly paid professional athlete. Instead he is shown a different side of the fame of professional sports. The good and the bad.

Although I don’t normally read graphic novels, I greatly enjoyed The Hockey Saint. Shapiro shows us something that we may not normally have seen or expected and that is what sets it apart from others. I would definitely recommend this to others. Hockey fans and young players would especially enjoy reading The Hockey Saint.

* I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review

5 picks

